Religious Education

"Religion is to do right. It is to love, it is to serve, it is to think, it is to be humble."

Ralph Waldo Emerson, American Poet and Lecturer


Religious Education is taught across all Key Stages. Being a faith school means the teaching of Religious Education is very important for the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of our students. Additionally it prepares our students for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.

The Religious Studies curriculum encourages students to to learn from different religions, beliefs, values and traditions whilst exploring their own belief. Students are challenged to reflect on, consider, analyse, interpret and evaluate issues of truth, belief, faith and ethics and to communicate their responses.

We also ensure that our curriculum enriches our students' personal development and well-being and contributes to community cohesion by promoting mutual respect and tolerance in a diverse society. It encourages them to develop their sense of identity and belonging and enables them to flourish individually within their communities and as citizens of the glocal community.

Our curriculum ensures students develop respect for and sensitivity towards others, inparticular those whose faiths and beliefs are different from their own. It also promotes discernment and enables students to combat prejudice.

  Term 1 Term 2 Term 3
Year 7 Purpose of creation
Evolution Theory
Big Bang
Pillars of Islam Pillars of Islam
Year 8 Pillars of Faith Pillars of Faith Dharmic Faiths
Year 9 Pillars of Faith Christianity Judaism
Year 10 Religion and Ethics (Islam) Religion and Ethics (Islam) Religion and Ethics (Islam)
Year 11 Religion, Philosophy and Social Justice (Christianity) Religion, Philosophy and Social Justice (Christianity) Religion, Philosophy and Social Justice (Christianity)

What qualification wilI I get?

GCSE Religious Studies

How will I be assessed?

Assessment will be through two 1hr 30mins examination, there will be no coursework. The examination will be divided into four sections and students will be expected to choose one of the two questions set on each section, i.e. four questions in total. Each question is sub-divided into four parts structured on an incline of difficulty.